LIVE NOW: Finals Day Of The 25th Anniversary Of The Burleigh Heads Single Fin Fez - Stab Mag

LIVE NOW: Finals Day Of The 25th Anniversary Of The Burleigh Heads Single Fin Fez

The most stacked boardriders heats you’ve ever seen with commentary from Jed ‘Smivvy’ Smith and Stace Galbraith.

Words by Ethan Davis
Reading Time: 3 minutes

Joel Parkinson, Jai Glindeman, Matt Hoy, Soli Bailey, Brad Gerlach, mini Occ and Margo… the list goes on.

Burleigh Boardriders Club, Billabong, and Gage Roads Brewing are hosting their 25th anniversary of the single fin festival celebrating surfing heritage and history. 

Competitors surf on antique pre 1985 single fin surfboards, at the iconic location of the world-famous Burleigh Point, and among the red hot field of local heroes will be some stars of surfing including 2012 World Champion, Joel Parkinson, the winner in 2017 & 2019, currently chasing his third title. 

“Pretty amazing for a small grass roots event to be going for 25 years and getting stronger every year” says Parko. “I think the history of Burleigh makes this event the best grass roots event, this is where man-on-man surfing competition started and Burleigh Boardriders have really gone on and kept that authenticity in it”.

Many world champions have surfed in the event, including 1999 World Champion and goofyfoot powerhouse, Mark Occhilupo. “My money’s on Joel. The way he surfs a single fin is just second to none”, declared Occ.

Defending 2021 Single Fin champion Quinn Bruce will be in the mix along with previous championship tour competitor Jay ‘Bottle’ Thompson, and notable rippers like Micah Margieson and outstanding Indigenous surfer Soli Bailey. Locals to watch are aplenty, markedly Maddy Job, Jacob Byrne, Jye Brazenas and Tim Hyland.

Dimity Stoyle will defend her 2021 Single Fin Women’s division title against local up and comers, notably Charli Hately, and in the Juniors division, surfing on boards 3 times their age, Ty Richardson will be chased down by Burleigh Boardriders own Queensland Champion Rico Haybittle and young power surfer Tommy Whitpaine, who are both rivals hungry to win at their local break.

The fez also features food and clothing stalls, live music, retro surfboard displays, and lots of grog supplied by Gage Roads Brewing. Surf commentary by the effervescent and uncouth two-time gold cone piece award winning surf journalist, Jed ‘Smivvvy’ Smith, and CUSP host, Stace Galbraith.

The 25th Anniversary is a huge achievement for Burleigh Boardriders. 25 years of one continuous contest is a demonstration of the ongoing dedication from generations of grass roots members involved in running the event. The 2022 Burleigh Boardriders Single Fin has most certainly come a long way from a couple tents on the point to now being the highlight of the Gold Coast’s surfing calendar. For many, one of Australia’s most anticipated annual surfing events. 

Winners will take home a nice wad of cash, a shit-tonne of glory, and one of three custom channel bottom single fins for the winners of each division, shaped by Ian Byrne, Jamie Byrne and Dale Wilson. 

Follow live score updates here.