Stab Magazine | Watch: A Microdose Of Vissla's Cosmic Creek Weekend

And The Winners Of The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Are... Watch The Pick-Up Episode 5, Presented by Vans, To Find Out


Watch: A Microdose Of Vissla’s Cosmic Creek Weekend

A look at all the fun you missed in Dana Point at the 20th Annual Retro Shred Fest.

cinema // Jun 7, 2018
Words by stab
Reading Time: < 1 minutes

For both days of Vissla’s Cosmic Creek Retro Shred Fest, Orange County shone very bright indeed, the warmest day of the summer so far, and some workable sets being taken apart by a hundred or so single-and twin-fin wielding warriors. 

Click into the edit above for a look at the weekend’s festivities, which saw shaping demos, beachfront espresso, BBQ, and natural tie-dying, a full set from Tops and The Night Beats, and Jason Bennet and Kevin Schulz running away with the coveted Creators and Innovators crown.

Full results from the 20th Annual Cosmic Creek Retro Shred Fest below: 

Creators & Innovators
1. Jason Bennet (w/ Kevin Schulz)
2. Tyler Warren (w/ Kolton “White Buttons” Sullivan)
3. Travis Reynolds (w/ Corban Campbell)
4. Donald Brink 
5. Chris Christenson
6. John Robertson (w/ Aaron Cormican)

The Performers
1. Kevin Schulz
2. Cole Houshmand
3. John Robertson
4. Tyler Warren
5. Corey Colapinto
6. Andy Neibles

Cosmic Gremmy’s (14-Under)
1. Patric O’Connor
2. Callan Emery
3. Micah Abadie
4. Maxwell Muetzel
5. Tahven Modisette
6. Logan Barber

Blazing Nomads (15-18)
1. Ian Gottron
2. Gus Day
3. Simon Hetrick
4. Cole Houshmand
5. Ryan Huckabee
6. Chandler Sieverts

Storm Riders (19-24)
1. Kolton Sullivan
2. Harrison Kirkman
3. Will Allen
4. Kai Diamond
5. Josiah Amico
6. Briggs Peus

Crystal Voyagers (25-34)
1. Nic Holdman
2. Patrick Ryan
3. Corban Campbell
4. Kawai Lindo
5. Mike Voeglin
6. Sara Taylor

Nervanic Symphonies (35-44)
1. Frankie D’Andrea
2. Rod Brewster
3. Tim Young
4. Ted Detwiler
5. Eric Mehlberg
6. Tyler Moorehead

Surf Sessions (45-54)
1. Bob Tassin
2. Vince De La Pena
3. Bobby Lockhart
4. Eric Diamond
5. Raz Hodgeman
6. Jeff Jones

Free & Easy Riders (55+)
1. Ralph
2. Rick Toohey
3. Paul Naude
4. Paul Thorsen
5. Phil “Boo” Stubbs
6. Don O’Donnell


Comments are a Stab Premium feature. Gotta join to talk shop.

Already a member? Sign In

Want to join? Sign Up


Most Recent

Stab Surfer of the Year: John John Florence, Italo Ferreira, Balaram Stack, Rolo Montes, and Shaun Manners

Day 9: "You can't do better than his year last year." - John John Florence

Jan 28, 2023

Full Moon Surfs, Impassable Puddles, And A Few Nights Spent Sleeping In A WSL Commentary Booth

A reader-submitted collection of nonconformist surf stories.

Jan 27, 2023

Carissa Moore And Finn McGill Are Your 2023 Vans Triple Crown Of Surfing Champions 

They both pocket $50k and tickets to this year’s Vans Pipe Masters.

Jan 27, 2023


The Pick-Up, Presented By Vans, Episode 5

Mason Ho helps us ring in our final week on the North Shore.

Jan 27, 2023

Goofyfoot Brazilian World Champion Stars In Stab’s Biggest Board-Testing Franchise

Can you guess who?

Jan 26, 2023

Surf Community Rallies To Raise Funds For Eddie Winner And On-Duty Hawaiian Lifeguard Luke Shepardson

Because it's the right thing to do, of course.

Jan 26, 2023

Interview: Caity Simmers On Machete Wars, Rihanna, Personal Project Problems, And The Rise Of Female Surf Content. 

A toast to ‘Toasted.’

Jan 25, 2023

Stab Surfer of the Year: Creed McTaggart, Albee Layer, Laura Enever, Dane Guduaskas, and Selema Masekela

Day 8: "65 years young and charging just as hard as ever at Pipe, Backdoor,…

Jan 25, 2023

“I’m Not A Big Wave Guy”

How Kai Paula accidentally made his mark at Jaws three weeks after surfing it for…

Jan 24, 2023

Everyone Went.

A toes in the sand, phone in the lagoon account of the 10th Eddie Aikau…

Jan 24, 2023

Breaking: Another CT Rookie Injured Before First Event

Sophie McCulloch pulls out of Pipeline due to Snapper Rocks snafu.

Jan 23, 2023


Watch: ‘Toasted,’ By Caity Simmers

Your favorite surfer directs, edits, and stars in her first feature film. 

Jan 23, 2023

On-Duty North Shore Lifeguard Luke Shepardson Wins The Eddie Aikau

Local man prevails over 39 big-wave heavyweights at 29ft @ 19 seconds Waimea.

Jan 23, 2023

The Eddie Aikau Invitational Is On

Grab a beverage and enjoy surfing's Super Bowl Sunday

Jan 22, 2023

The Women’s CT Is About To See A Generational Shift 

Only three women have won a Title in the past 15 years. Here's why that's…

Jan 22, 2023


“One For Marcio” – Albee Layer’s Tribute To Mad Dog

Imagine treating 30ft Jaws like Backdoor.

Jan 22, 2023

Stab Surfer of the Year: Noa Deane, Jamie O’Brien, Parker Coffin, Cliff Kapono, and Brendan Buckley

Day 7: "It's like he feels more comfortable when it’s as gnarly as it gets."…

Jan 21, 2023

Five Reasons Why The Eddie Still Matters

With better waves around the world and likely no prize money, why is The Eddie…

Jan 20, 2023