Breaking: The Eddie Will Go (Assuming There's Waves) - Stab Mag

Breaking: The Eddie Will Go (Assuming There’s Waves)

Iconic Waimea event given the green light by organizers for winter 2021/22.

news // Nov 30, 2021
Words by Michael Ciaramella
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Last January, a gargantuan northwest swell hit the North Shore of Oahu, igniting every sleeping reef on the island, from Phantoms to Outer Logs to Himalayas, and of course, Waimea.

While the most memorable session went down a little to the south (who could forget Zeke’s slam or rocket jetski man?), Waimea provided its largest waves in the past few years, some closing out the Bay entirely. Despite this, the Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational did not run. That was due to Hawaiian covid protocols — not a lack of swell.

“When the wave breaks over the tree, it’s big enough for the Eddie,” Photo: Katie Rodriguez

“I think if the Eddie waiting period was still going, it for sure would be on today,” said an out-of-breath Mason Ho after negotiating Waimea’s notorious shorebreak sans-surfboard (he’d been caught by a closeout set and broke his leash). “To be honest, I think it’s a little smaller than the last Eddie they had [2016, John Florence won etc], just because last time there’s no way I could have gotten out without a ski, but this time I pulled it. Still, definitely Eddie size.”

While the day was a spectacle in itself, it was disappointing to miss out on an Eddie opportunity. Historically speaking, they run just once every four years. Which is why it delights us to announce that if a similar swell hits Hawaii this winter, the Eddie will go.

Per their recent Instagram post…

Here’s the 2021/22 Eddie Invite list:

Aaron Gold
Andrea Moller
Ben Wilkinson
Billy Kemper
Bruce Irons
Eli Olson
Emi Erickson
Zeke Lau
Grant Baker
Greg Long
Ian Walsh
Jamie O’Brien
Jamie Mitchell
John John Florence
Justine Dupont
Kai Lenny
Keala Kennelly
Kealii Mamala
Kelly Slater
Koa Rothman
Landon McNamara
Lucas Chumbo
Luke Shephardson
Makani Adric
Makua Rothman
Mark Healey
Mason Ho
Matt Bromley
Nathan Florence
Nathan Fletcher
Paige Alms
Peter Mel
Ross Clarke Jones
Shane Dorian
Taio Shipman
Tikanui Smith
Tyler Larronde
Mikey O’Shaughnessy
Reef McIntosh
Mike Pietsch
Torrey Meister
Dave Wassell
Chris Owens
Ryan Seelbach
Christ Bertish
Jamie Sterling
Alex Martins
Bianca Valenti
Raquel Heckert
Silvia Nabuco
Polly Ralda
Isabelle Leonhardt

And once more, for old time’s sake…


Comments are a Stab Premium feature. Gotta join to talk shop.

Already a member? Sign In

Want to join? Sign Up


Most Recent

This Is How You Win The Backdoor Shootout

The Mason x Snapt4 highlight reel is a must-watch.

Jan 22, 2022

Carissa Moore, John Florence, Caity Simmers and Jai Glindeman are the 2021 Stab Surfers of the Year

Plus, Caity Simmer and Jai Glindeman take Best Juniors, 'Sonic Souvenirs' wins Best Edit, and…

Jan 21, 2022

John John Florence Could Win The 2022 World Title Traveling By Sail Boat

And here is exactly how.

Jan 21, 2022

50 Years Of Kelly Slater

Day 28: Masked, by Morgan Maassen.

Jan 21, 2022

You Can Ride Jack Robinson’s Stab In The Dark Boards

And so many others. See you at Camp Shred, the largest board demo in the…

Jan 20, 2022

Stab Surfer of the Year: Kelly Slater and The Stab Premium Members

Day Ten: You typed, we tallied up and Kelly Slater slid into our DMs.

Jan 20, 2022

Surf Fans And Athletes Urge WSL To #PutMaseInTheMasters

Mason Ho is the fiscally responsible wildcard decision.

Jan 20, 2022


Do You Have What It Takes To Surf The Triple Crown In A Single Day?

Harry Bryant & Micky Clarke take on the trifecta, the GOAT returns, Ivan Florence finds…

Jan 19, 2022

Why The WSL Is Going Back To Lowers

And is it the right call? Let's explore, and hear from Jessi Miley-Dyer.

Jan 18, 2022

The WSL Just Revealed Its 2022 Finals Location

It's not what you think.

Jan 18, 2022

Surfing Progressed At The Da Hui Backdoor Shootout

The all-female team stole the show. Here’s a recap, and a photo gallery from Arto…

Jan 18, 2022

Rivvia Projects Is The Fourth High-Profile Surfer-Owned Brand

Here’s what we know about Julian Wilson’s new endeavour.

Jan 17, 2022

Mason Ho & Snapt 4 Take Out The Da Hui Backdoor Shootout

Honorable mention to Kala Grace for his tapped 12-point ride.

Jan 17, 2022

Stab Surfer of the Year: Italo Ferreira, Bettylou Sakura Johnson, Matt Meola, Leo Fioravanti and Alex Knost

Day Nine: The calm before the Premium Members have the final say...

Jan 17, 2022

The Backdoor Shootout Finals Are On, Watch Here

The leaderboard is tight, and the waves are firing.

Jan 16, 2022

Surf Parenting: How I Became The Very Thing I Hated Most

A cautionary tale.

Jan 16, 2022

Tonga Underwater Volcano Erupts, Triggers Tsunami Warnings In US, Australia, Japan, NZ

Satellite footage is wild.

Jan 15, 2022

How The Yin & Yang Logo Stayed Hot At 50

Timeless design, quality product.

Jan 14, 2022