Stab Magazine | Young Guns Round One Is A Wrap: Here's The Winners

Watch 'Wildcard: The Moana Jones-Wong Story'

224 Views

Young Guns Round One Is A Wrap: Here’s The Winners

An aerial, rail, combo medley. 

news // Jun 8, 2016
Words by stab
Reading Time: < 1 minutes

Round one of Quiksilver’s Young Guns competition has come to a close. The 13 to 18-year-old event’s showcasing the best underage talent, who have a cell phone and Instagram (see also: everyone in that age bracket). Round two starts today. After over 1600 entries from 18 different countries, the winners are in. The next challenge: Cut your own edit! The clip must be one-to-two minutes and only the remaining 30 are in this round. So if you missed out on round one, sorry, see you next year. All the clips will go live on Quiksilver’s Young Guns Surf website and voting will be open to the public; that’s you! 

You can view the YGair winners above, all handpicked by the honourable Mikey Wright. 

The YGAir Winners: 
Malakai Martinez, Costa Rica, @mpsmalakai_deez
Samuel Pupo, Brazil, @samuel_pupo
Liam O’brien, Australia, @liamobr_
Kyuss King, Australia, @kyussking
Kael Walsh, Australia, @kaelwalsh
Rio Waida, Indonesia, @riowaida_
Sebastian Williams, South Africa, @sebastianwilliams1
Joel Paxton, Australia, @joelpaxton 
John Mel, America, @johnmel_
Micha Cantor, America, @michacantor

https://player.vimeo.com/video/169515938

YGrail were selected by Zeke Lau, because he moves water like a hijacked air craft carrier at full bolt. If you haven’t watched his most recent edit, we highly recommend it

The YGRail Winners:  
Finn Mcgill, Hawaii, @finn_mcgill, 
Mateus Herdy, Brazilian, @mateusherdy
Sandon Whittaker, Australia, @sandonsurf 
Jack Murray, Australia, @ja_ckmurray
Morgan Cibilic, Australia, @morgan_cibilic
Nohea Futrell, America, @noheafutrell
Cody Young, Hawaii, @cody_young
Kade Matson, America, @kadematson 
Barron Mamiya, Hawaii, @barronmamiya
Mikey McDonagh, Australia, @_mikeymcdonagh

https://player.vimeo.com/video/169633786

YGcombo is the boys who put it all together. Get shacked, whip one off the top and set your fins free. The good sir, Jeremy Flores, was the man making the picks here. Years on the tour teaches you how to score a proper combo.

The YGCombo Winners: 
Gunner Day, America, @gunnnerday
Reef Heazlewood, Australia, @reefheazlewood
@mottinhaoficial
@nickmarshall3, Nick Marshall, America
Cole Houshmand, America, @cole_houshmand 
Kehu Butler, New Zealand, @kehu_b
Yuji Nishi, @yujinishi3
Erwan Blouin, @erwanblouin_
Marco Mignot, France, @marco_mignot 
Dylan Moffat, @dylan_moffat

Comments

Comments are a Stab Premium feature. Gotta join to talk shop.

Already a member? Sign In

Want to join? Sign Up

Advertisement

Most Recent

Unlocked: ‘Nozvid’ In All Its Glory

Two years and $100K later.

Dec 8, 2022

How To Watch The Vans Pipe Masters

With less than 24 hours to go, we've put together a complete list of rules…

Dec 7, 2022

Watch: Stab’s Best Wetsuits of 2023

Our quest to objectively establish the best men's suit, women's suit, and booties out of…

Dec 7, 2022

Eithan Osborne Belongs On The 2003 World Tour

But he's gotten an invite to the 2022 Vans Pipe Masters, so we caught up…

Dec 7, 2022

30:37

“I Could Do Reels And Surf Two Foot Beachies And Hoard Cash But That’s Moral Suicide”

Noa Deane’s thoughts on money, media, airs in glassy waves and more.

Dec 7, 2022

Wildcard: The Moana Jones-Wong Story

The rise and rise of Mrs. Pipeline.

Dec 6, 2022

Watch: Torrey Meister’s Gunslinging SEOTY Entry

"Bull-riding is such a great warmup for surfing big waves."

Dec 6, 2022

Guess Who Else Just Got Invited To The Vans Pipe Masters

3 more withdrawals, and 3 more exciting replacements.

Dec 6, 2022

21:04

‘Buying Double Cheeseburgers, Acting Like He’s Hit Some Sections Today’

RAGE 400 drops ft Noz, Chun, Creed, Vinny, Jel, Wado + others!

Dec 5, 2022

What’s Happening To Orange County’s Sand, And Is It Worsening The Waves At Lowers?

Read this to upgrade your understanding of your local beach break and coastal environment.

Dec 5, 2022

Here Are The 15 People Who Qualified For The 2023 CT

After seven events and much groveling, 10 men and 5 women will officially be CT…

Dec 3, 2022

An Ode To Aussie Chick Pros From The Nineties 

A celebration of stoicism, resilience, grit, core lordship, and unconditional love.

Dec 3, 2022

Update: John John Flushes Everyone Down The Haleiwa Toilet Bowl

And the CT qualifications for 2023 are set.

Dec 3, 2022

3:53

Riaru Ito Is Cooler Than His Cucumber Garden

Meet our passion pick for the Vans Pipe Masters.

Dec 2, 2022

5 New Surfers Confirmed For The Vans Pipe Masters

Who's out, who's in?

Dec 2, 2022

Unlocked: Kael Walsh, Rolo Montes, And Al Cleland Jr In ‘Saturn’

Quik’s new 20-minute surf film is so good you’ll want to burn a DVD of…

Dec 2, 2022

How Surfers Get Paid, Episode 4

The energy drinks are here. They’ve got millions of dollars, and they want your head.

Dec 2, 2022

‘Saturn’ Orbits Into Southern California

Quiksilver's newest film made landfall in Encinitas, and we were there to document the occasion.

Dec 1, 2022
Advertisement