Stab Magazine | The Eddie Invitational Returns (Sans Quiksilver)

And The Winners Of The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Are... Watch The Pick-Up Episode 5, Presented by Vans, To Find Out


The Eddie Invitational Returns (Sans Quiksilver)

With an array of local sponsors the world’s most prestigious big wave event is back.

news // Nov 25, 2018
Words by stab
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Two years ago, it looked like John John Florence might be the last surfer to ever win ‘The Eddie’. A few months after John notched out his competitors at Waimea in 2016, Quiksilver and the Aikau family announced their split. A 31-year-long relationship which broke the hearts of the surfers and fans who pined a 20-ft Waimea swell every winter.  

Over one million viewers from 200 countries tuned into the 2016 stream. Big wave surfing might not typically garner the views of it’s performance-founded counterpart, but there’s something about The Eddie that’s incomparable and unmissable.  

While exact details around the split are scarce, sources and previous negotiations suggest they were primarily coin related. One source suggested the asking price from the Aikau’s was nearing the $1 million mark, a figure outside the grasp of a cash-strapped surf brand.

Negotiations fell through, the Aikau’s promised to hold the event, but when finances and time restrictions combined, an independent Eddie Invitational was futile for the 2016 and 2017 seasons. 

Now, with new and local sponsors dipping into their pockets, The Eddie may* return. 

Kamehameha Schools, Waimea Valley, the Office of Hawaiian Affairs (OHA), L & L Hawaii, and Duke’s Hawaii are some of the new supporting partners.

The Eddie is therefore all prepped. The opening ceremony kicks off at 2:00pm, Thursday 29th with the waiting period running through until the 28th February 2019. And while this is promising, don’t get your hopes too high; The Eddie has only run nine times in its 34 years of existence and needs 20-ft plus of consistent waves to be called on.

That’s 20-foot Hawaiian too, none of that pathetic face-height shit the US mainlanders run-off.

While we wait (and hope), browse the competitors and alternate list below.

*Swell permitting. 


Grant Baker
Lucas Chianca
Ross Clarke-Jones
Danilo Couto
Shane Dorian
Nathan Fletcher
John John Florence
Nathan Florence
Sunny Garcia
Aaron Gold
Mark Healey
Mason Ho
Bruce Irons
Billy Kemper
Keala Kennelly
Zeke Lau
Kai Lenny
Greg Long
Keali‘i Mamala
Garrett McNamara
Jamie Mitchell
Jamie O’Brien
Joel Parkinson
Makuakai Rothman
Koa Rothman
Kelly Slater
Takayuki Wakita
Ian Walsh
Dave Wassel


Kyle Shipman
Michael Ho
Landon McNamara
Luke Shephardson
Ramon Navarro
Reef McIntosh
Kohl Christensen
Chris Owens
Tyler Laron
Ben Wilkinson
Kala Alexander
Rodrigo Koxa
Tom Carroll
Paige Alms (for Keala Kennelly)
Mark Matthews
Jamie Sterling
Shawn Dollar
Carlos Burle
Gabriel Villaran
Kahea Hart
Damien Hobgood
Kalani Chapman
Ryan Hipwood
Danny Fuller
Nic Lamb
Anthony Tashnick
Rusty Long
Derek Dunfee
Jeremy Flores
Noah Johnson
Peter Mel
Andrew Cotton
Duane DeSoto
Kainoa McGee
Ikaika Kalama
Tyler Fox
Brad Gerlach
Vincent Lartizen
Mike Parsons
Axi Muniain
Benjamin Sanchis
Damien Warr
Sebastian Steudtner
Eric Akiskalian
Dan Corbett
Francisco Porcella
Antonio Silva
Gautier Garanx
Antonio Balau
Mick Corbett
Jarryd Foster
Lance Hoʻokano
Rusty Keaulana
Hugo Vau
Pedro Scooby
Yuri Soledade
Trevor Sven Carlson


Comments are a Stab Premium feature. Gotta join to talk shop.

Already a member? Sign In

Want to join? Sign Up


Most Recent

Stab Surfer of the Year: John John Florence, Italo Ferreira, Balaram Stack, Rolo Montes, and Shaun Manners

Day 9: "You can't do better than his year last year." - John John Florence

Jan 28, 2023

Full Moon Surfs, Impassable Puddles, And A Few Nights Spent Sleeping In A WSL Commentary Booth

A reader-submitted collection of nonconformist surf stories.

Jan 27, 2023

Carissa Moore And Finn McGill Are Your 2023 Vans Triple Crown Of Surfing Champions 

They both pocket $50k and tickets to this year’s Vans Pipe Masters.

Jan 27, 2023


The Pick-Up, Presented By Vans, Episode 5

Mason Ho helps us ring in our final week on the North Shore.

Jan 27, 2023

Goofyfoot Brazilian World Champion Stars In Stab’s Biggest Board-Testing Franchise

Can you guess who?

Jan 26, 2023

Surf Community Rallies To Raise Funds For Eddie Winner And On-Duty Hawaiian Lifeguard Luke Shepardson

Because it's the right thing to do, of course.

Jan 26, 2023

Interview: Caity Simmers On Machete Wars, Rihanna, Personal Project Problems, And The Rise Of Female Surf Content. 

A toast to ‘Toasted.’

Jan 25, 2023

Stab Surfer of the Year: Creed McTaggart, Albee Layer, Laura Enever, Dane Guduaskas, and Selema Masekela

Day 8: "65 years young and charging just as hard as ever at Pipe, Backdoor,…

Jan 25, 2023

“I’m Not A Big Wave Guy”

How Kai Paula accidentally made his mark at Jaws three weeks after surfing it for…

Jan 24, 2023

Everyone Went.

A toes in the sand, phone in the lagoon account of the 10th Eddie Aikau…

Jan 24, 2023

Breaking: Another CT Rookie Injured Before First Event

Sophie McCulloch pulls out of Pipeline due to Snapper Rocks snafu.

Jan 23, 2023


Watch: ‘Toasted,’ By Caity Simmers

Your favorite surfer directs, edits, and stars in her first feature film. 

Jan 23, 2023

On-Duty North Shore Lifeguard Luke Shepardson Wins The Eddie Aikau

Local man prevails over 39 big-wave heavyweights at 29ft @ 19 seconds Waimea.

Jan 23, 2023

The Eddie Aikau Invitational Is On

Grab a beverage and enjoy surfing's Super Bowl Sunday

Jan 22, 2023

The Women’s CT Is About To See A Generational Shift 

Only three women have won a Title in the past 15 years. Here's why that's…

Jan 22, 2023


“One For Marcio” – Albee Layer’s Tribute To Mad Dog

Imagine treating 30ft Jaws like Backdoor.

Jan 22, 2023

Stab Surfer of the Year: Noa Deane, Jamie O’Brien, Parker Coffin, Cliff Kapono, and Brendan Buckley

Day 7: "It's like he feels more comfortable when it’s as gnarly as it gets."…

Jan 21, 2023

Five Reasons Why The Eddie Still Matters

With better waves around the world and likely no prize money, why is The Eddie…

Jan 20, 2023