Stab Magazine | Owen Wright Is Rewarded The Wildcard For 2017

And The Winners Of The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Are... Watch The Pick-Up Episode 5, Presented by Vans, To Find Out


Owen Wright Is Rewarded The Wildcard For 2017

Meet your Men’s and Women’s CT Lineups. 

news // Dec 23, 2016
Words by stab
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Owen was always getting the wildcard. Needless to say, it’s been seesaw year for the Wrights of the CT, with Tyler taking the world title, Owen suffering a highly-covered brain injury prior to the 2015 Pipe Masters – we won’t bore you with the details, but you can read them here – having a child and the constant media speculation around Owen’s return to competition. And Owen’s return is still questionable, his camp is keeping tight lips. He only jumped back on a short board in June and his ongoing recovery may open the door for Nat Young to jump back on the top 34 in 2017. The other wildcard on the Men’s side was granted to Bede Durbidge, who fractured his pelvis in the 2015 Pipe Masters. Bede however, returned to competition at Pipe this year and lost to John John in round three.

Without further ado, here are your 2017 CT lineups:

2016 CT Top Ten:
1 – Tyler Wright
2 – Courtney Conlogue
3 – Carissa Moore
4 – Tatiana Weston-Webb
5 – Johanne Defay
6 – Stephanie Gilmore
7 – Malia Manuel
8 – Sally Fitzgibbons
9 – Sage Erickson
b – Laura Enever

– Lakey Peterson

2016 Top Six (QS):
– Silvana Lima
– Bronte Macaulay
– Nikki Van Dijk
– Keely Andrew
– Coco Ho
– Pauline Ado

– Bianca Buitendag
– Alessa Quizon
– Chelsea Tuach
– Isabella Nichols

2016 CT Top 22:
1 – John John Florence
2 – Jordy Smith
3 – Gabriel Medina
4 – Kolohe Andino
5 – Matt Wilkinson
6 – Michel Bourez
7 – Kelly Slater
8 – Julian Wilson
9 – Joel Parkinson
10 – Filipe Toledo
11 – Adriano de Souza
12 – Sebastian Zietz
13 – Josh Kerr
14 – Adrian Buchan
15 – Italo Ferreira
16 – Caio Ibelli
17 – Mick Fanning
18 – Conner Coffin
19 – Stuart Kennedy
20 – Kanoa Igarashi
21 – Wiggolly Dantas
22 – Miguel Pupo

– Bede Durbidge
– Owen Wright

2016 Top Ten (QS):
– Connor O’Leary
– Ethan Ewing
– Frederico Morais
– Joan Duru
– Leonardo Fioravanti
– Jeremy Flores
– Jadson Andre
– Ian Gouveia
– Jack Freestone
– Ezekiel Lau

– Nat Young
– Bino Lopes
– Keanu Asing
– Jesse Mendes


Comments are a Stab Premium feature. Gotta join to talk shop.

Already a member? Sign In

Want to join? Sign Up


Most Recent

Stab Surfer of the Year: John John Florence, Italo Ferreira, Balaram Stack, Rolo Montes, and Shaun Manners

Day 9: "You can't do better than his year last year." - John John Florence

Jan 28, 2023

Full Moon Surfs, Impassable Puddles, And A Few Nights Spent Sleeping In A WSL Commentary Booth

A reader-submitted collection of nonconformist surf stories.

Jan 27, 2023

Carissa Moore And Finn McGill Are Your 2023 Vans Triple Crown Of Surfing Champions 

They both pocket $50k and tickets to this year’s Vans Pipe Masters.

Jan 27, 2023


The Pick-Up, Presented By Vans, Episode 5

Mason Ho helps us ring in our final week on the North Shore.

Jan 27, 2023

Goofyfoot Brazilian World Champion Stars In Stab’s Biggest Board-Testing Franchise

Can you guess who?

Jan 26, 2023

Surf Community Rallies To Raise Funds For Eddie Winner And On-Duty Hawaiian Lifeguard Luke Shepardson

Because it's the right thing to do, of course.

Jan 26, 2023

Interview: Caity Simmers On Machete Wars, Rihanna, Personal Project Problems, And The Rise Of Female Surf Content. 

A toast to ‘Toasted.’

Jan 25, 2023

Stab Surfer of the Year: Creed McTaggart, Albee Layer, Laura Enever, Dane Guduaskas, and Selema Masekela

Day 8: "65 years young and charging just as hard as ever at Pipe, Backdoor,…

Jan 25, 2023

“I’m Not A Big Wave Guy”

How Kai Paula accidentally made his mark at Jaws three weeks after surfing it for…

Jan 24, 2023

Everyone Went.

A toes in the sand, phone in the lagoon account of the 10th Eddie Aikau…

Jan 24, 2023

Breaking: Another CT Rookie Injured Before First Event

Sophie McCulloch pulls out of Pipeline due to Snapper Rocks snafu.

Jan 23, 2023


Watch: ‘Toasted,’ By Caity Simmers

Your favorite surfer directs, edits, and stars in her first feature film. 

Jan 23, 2023

On-Duty North Shore Lifeguard Luke Shepardson Wins The Eddie Aikau

Local man prevails over 39 big-wave heavyweights at 29ft @ 19 seconds Waimea.

Jan 23, 2023

The Eddie Aikau Invitational Is On

Grab a beverage and enjoy surfing's Super Bowl Sunday

Jan 22, 2023

The Women’s CT Is About To See A Generational Shift 

Only three women have won a Title in the past 15 years. Here's why that's…

Jan 22, 2023


“One For Marcio” – Albee Layer’s Tribute To Mad Dog

Imagine treating 30ft Jaws like Backdoor.

Jan 22, 2023

Stab Surfer of the Year: Noa Deane, Jamie O’Brien, Parker Coffin, Cliff Kapono, and Brendan Buckley

Day 7: "It's like he feels more comfortable when it’s as gnarly as it gets."…

Jan 21, 2023

Five Reasons Why The Eddie Still Matters

With better waves around the world and likely no prize money, why is The Eddie…

Jan 20, 2023