So, Who's All Competing in the (Digital) Vans Triple Crown? - Stab Mag

So, Who’s All Competing in the (Digital) Vans Triple Crown?

An unequivocally stacked roster.

news // Dec 22, 2020
Words by Stab
Reading Time: < 1 minutes

As you know by now, the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing has gone digital in winter ’20/’21. Due to the WSL’s inability to run full-scale QS events in the first half of the year (too many people traveling etc.), this was the only viable option.

Here’s how it works:

From December 21- January 19, surfers entered in the event must submit two waves filmed at each of the three Triple Crown venues: Haleiwa, Sunset, and Pipe. These waves will be scored by an independent panel of judges, and the winners will be decided on Jan 20.

The event is for both men and women, who will compete in separate categories for the same prize money.

There’s a $30,000 prize purse for each location that will be allocated to the men and women who place 1st – 5th. (15k for men, 15k for women)

1st – $5,000 / 2nd – $4,000 / 3rd – $3,000 / 4th – $2,000 / 5th – $1,000 

There’s also a $100,000 prize purse for overall VTCS Champions ($50k men, $50k women), which will be based off their three-event totals.

So who’s in the event?

Vans snuck us a little look at their guest list. It includes:
– Kelly Slater
– John Florence
– Mason Ho
– Jack Robbo
– Ethan Ewing
– Griffin Cola
– Nate Florence
– Ivan Florence
– Dane Gudauskas
– Seth Moniz
– Josh Moniz
– Cliff Kapono
– Ezra Sitt

– etc.

– Steph Gilmore
– Carissa Moore
– Coco Ho
– Moana Jones
– Macy Callaghan
– Leah Dawson
– Malia Manuel
– Sally Fitzgibbons
– Tatiana Weston-Webb
– Brisa Hennessy
– Bronte Macaulay
– etc.

Keep your eyes peeled for the first uploads. Swell’s on the way.


Comments are a Stab Premium feature. Gotta join to talk shop.

Already a member? Sign In

Want to join? Sign Up


Most Recent

Introducing A Brand New Travel Series (With A Familiar Name)

Watch the First Three Episodes of Stab & Red Bull No Contest Off Tour.

Sep 30, 2022

Leandro Dora: Pro Surfer, Businessman, Punk Rock Festival Organizer, Spiritual Mentor, And World Title Winning Surf Coach 

Meet one of the most beloved and effective individuals in the athlete's zone.

Sep 29, 2022


You’re Gonna Click On A New Oscar Langburne Video

Style that can't be denied.

Sep 29, 2022

Long Read: An Angel At My Table

From Stab Issue 15, October 2006: Chris Davidson has one more shot at the big…

Sep 28, 2022


Watch: Kalani David’s Last Dance

A final surf part from the Hawaiian surf/skate prodigy.

Sep 28, 2022

Taylor Steele Won’t Let Surf Filmmaking Die Without a Fight

Movies shown, filmmaking advice, punk rock at the 2022 Solento Surf Festival.

Sep 28, 2022

Wait, Are We Going To See Moana Jones In The Olympics At Teahupo’o?

Team USA (women) and Japan (men) should be able to choose anyone they want to…

Sep 27, 2022

Donald Brink and Matt Biolos Win Mick Fanning’s Electric Acid Surfboard Test

And we had a party in Oceanside to celebrate.

Sep 26, 2022

Kanoa Igarashi and Kirra Pinkerton Answer Call Of Duty, Win Medals Of Honor In 2022 ISA World Games

Teams Japan, USA, and France move into Victor’s Village.

Sep 26, 2022

The Best Euro Surf Trips That Mightn’t Be On Your Radar

Want to know which less-trodden nation offers the most potential?

Sep 26, 2022

Former CT Surfer Chris Davidson Passes Away At Age 45

A radical life tragically ends outside a bar in New South Wales.

Sep 25, 2022

Where You Should Be In Europe Right Now

An overview of the region's greatest hits.

Sep 25, 2022

The Team Ukraine Interview

“There are mines near the shore, and already a lot of people have died…so it’s…

Sep 24, 2022

Mormaii Founder Raided By Brazilian Feds On Suspicion Of Plotting Against Democracy

Curiously, he's the second surf brand founder to become entangled in a political scandal of…

Sep 24, 2022

The Electric Acid Surfboard Test With Mick Fanning, Episode 4

There are three boards left. Which one is Mick taking home?

Sep 23, 2022

Watch: Tresha

The Bella Kenworthy Edit.

Sep 22, 2022

Photos: Welcome To Vans Stab High Indonesia, Presented By Monster Energy

Welcome to Lakey Peak. Now do airs.

Sep 22, 2022


Taro Watanabe Is The Love Child Of Your Favorite 80’s Surfers

Watch his new edit 'Sonic Youth' now.

Sep 22, 2022