Some reasons to be feverish for the Quik Pro, France

The quality of event preview clips in 2013 is mercury on a hot day: Perpetually rising. Quiksilver have just swing right outta the park with this offering, howevs. Phrases in local dialect and what they really mean to the contest, the obvious attraction of sand-bottom blowouts, juiced up at the end by Klaxon's Golden Skans. If you weren't already greased for this event, then the content on this page should assist, as should the knowledge that Dane Reynolds has been confirmed in round one.

But that isn't Quiksilver's only entree. Below is the company's genius contribution to the event pre-game hype machine: #ThrowbackThursdays. Ain't many people around who ain't used the social media ingestion tool for a photo plucked from their deepest archives (like, my hair was so loco!), but Quik have used the concept to remind us of how goddamn good their event can be.

First, we have the pleasure of Mr John John Florence, glancing at the warmth in the rearview mirror...


And, Dane Reynolds, who'll be jamming as a wildcard. He faces Kelly Slater and Adam Melling in round one...


And of course, Kelly Slater himself, last year's winner and a man whom you would do well never to count out...


Then there's Julian Wilson, who surfed against Adam Melling in one of the event's more memorable heats...


Plus, Kolohe Andino, for whom the France event broke an unfortunate run...


And lastly, Gabs Medina, past-winner and always killer...

Heat 1:
 Josh Kerr (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF), Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 2: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Frederick Patacchia (HAW), Aritz Aranburu (EUK)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Marc Lacomare (FRA)
Heat 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Ramzi Boukhaim (MAR)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Adam Melling (AUS), Dane Reynolds (USA)
Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)
Heat 7: Julian Wilson (AUS), Gabriel Medina (BRA), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 8: Adriano De Souza (BRA), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 9: CJ Hobgood (USA), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF), John John Florence (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 11: Nat Young (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Damien Hobgood (USA)
Heat 12: Kai Otton (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)